WebKit GTK hackfest – An experience! #firsttimeinlife

As mentioned in the other post, last week I was in La Coruna, Spain, and attended WebKit GTK hackfest 2011 organized by Igalia. It was the first hackfest which I attended and my first visit to an Europian city. My main aim was to contribute to WebKit and share/gain knowledge. Apart for this goal, I also got a chance to meet many of the open source hackers.

Officially hackfest kicked off on 30th of Nov. Each of the hackers expressed their field of interest and the areas they would like to hack during the fest and we came up with the agenda for the whole hackfest. Thats the beauty of the open source software, you know, you got the freedom to choose your interest. I decided to work/learn accelerated compositing stuffs, webkit2 api review, v8 v/s jsc discussion and optimizing WebKit for mobile devices. Xan somehow managed to capture everyones interests on a big black board. Next 5 days, we hacked on these areas.

Image

I guess we were close to 20 in number. There were hackers from all around the world – US, UK, Brazil, Korea, Spain, Finland and India (my country), working for many different companies, such as Igalia, Collabara, Redhat, Gnome and Motorola Mobility (my employer). Apart from hacking together, we also shared cultural differences, played football, visited La Coruna city and had beer together. Overall, it was a great hackfest!

I would to thank Igalia and Collabara for organizing such a wonderful hackfest. And of-course, I am very thankful to my employer (Motorola Mobility) for sponsering my trip to the hackfest. I am planning to write few more blog posts on the progress we made during hackfest, wish me luck!

Cheer!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • silverroot  On December 6, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Do u mean “Officially hackfest kicked off on 30th of Nov.” ?? 😛

    • nayankk  On December 7, 2011 at 11:54 am

      yes yes.. 30 Nov.. edited it now.. thanks for pointing it out.. :p

Leave a Reply

